North Texas Sustainable Leaders

The annual Green Source DFW Sustainble Leadership Awards, hosted by the Memnosyne Institue, honors outstanding green professionals, nonprofits, businesses and volunteers in North Texas selected by their peers. Below is a list of past winners. 

See Green Source DFW's Green Hall of Fame for a list of historic figures in the North Texas green movement.


2019 GSDFW Sustainable Leadership Winners

Founders Award: John & Margie Haley

Unsung Hero Award: Lanny Shivers and Kirk Miller

Environmental Reporting: Robert Wilonsky

Environmental Science and Innovation Award: Trinity River Turtle Survey

Conservation Activist Award: Sam Kieschnick and Clint Wolfe

Green Project or Program Award: Amy King

Coke Buchanan Volunteer of the Year Award: DFW Solar Tour

Environmental Justice Award: Ernest McMillan


2018 GSDFW Sustainable Leadership Winners

Founders Award: Phillip Collins

Corporate Trailblazer: TreeHouse

Unsung Hero Award: Kenneth Winn

Environmental Reporting: Randy Loftis

Environmental Science and Innovation Award: DFW Air Research Consortium

Conservation Activist Award: Don and Debora Young

Green Project or Program Award: Promise of Peace Gardens

Coke Buchanan Volunteer of the Year Award: David Griggs

Environmental Justice Award: Joppa


2017 GSDFW Sustainable Leadership Winners

Lifetime Achievement: Brent A. Brown

Corporate Trailblazer: Living Earth

Founders Award: Dr. Todd Collier

Next Generation Award: Gonzalez Green Team

Unsung Hero Award: Jeff Dye

Large Business or Nonprofit Project or Program: DCCCD Sustainabiity Summit

Small Business: Recycle Revolution 

Small Nonprofit: Liveable Arlington 

Nonprofit Professional: Corey Troiani, Texas Campaign for the Environment DFW Director

Volunteer: Dr. Robert Haley


2016 GSDFW Sustainable Leadership Winners

Lifetime Achievement: Howard Garrett, organic gardening advocate, radio host and author

Corporate Trailblazer: Breeze Energy

Founders Award: Mary Ann Thompson-Frenk and Joshua Frenk, Phillip Shinoda

Large Business or Nonprofit: Half Price Books

Small Business: Texas Worm Ranch

Small Nonprofit: Texas Honeybee Guild

Nonprofit Professional: Dan Lepinski, North Texas Renewable Energy Group and solar education

For Profit Professional: Anna Clark, Earth People and Shark Stewards activist

Volunteer: Chris and Dick Guldi, Dallas Sierra Club activists


2015 GSDFW Sustainable Leadership Winners

Lifetime Achievement: Georgeann Moss, leader of the Dallas County Community College District’s sustainability team

Large Business or Nonprofit Project: The Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Dallas, Urban Water Team 

Small Business: Commodity Recycling Solutions

Small Nonprofit: Denton Drilling Awareness Group, the coalition that led the fight to ban fracking in Denton

Nonprofit Professional: Sharon Wilson, Earthworks organizer and nationally recognized anti-gas drilling blogger

Volunteer: Ben Sandifer, Great Trinity Forest advocate


2014 GSDFW Sustainable Leadership Winners

Lifetime Achievement:  Margie Haley, activist and philanthropist

Small Business: Edible DFW

Small Nonprofit: Texas Campaign for the Environment - DFW Office

Nonprofit Professional: Rita Beving, activist Sierra Club, Public Citizen

For-Profit Professional: Gary Olp, GGO Architects founder

Volunteer: Alexandria Beck, Mean Green for Animals at UNT activist


2013 GSDFW Sustainable Leadership Winners

Public Service: Trammell S. Crow, Earth Day Dallas founder

Lifetime Achievement: Tom Kemper, Dolphin Blue founder

Small Business: Recycle Revolution

Small Nonprofit: Friends of Tandy Hills Natural Area

Nonprofit Professional: Debbie Branch, Commercial Recycling and Keep Fort Worth Beautiful Coordinator - City of Fort Worth. 

For Profit Professional: Frito Lay Facilities Team, George A. Guck Director, Facilities & Corporate Services 

Volunteer: Molly Rooke, Dallas Sierra Club activist


2012 GSDFW Sustainable Leadership Winners

Small Busiiness: 911 Wildlife

Small Nonprofit: Downwinders at Risk

For-Profit Professional: Grier Raggio, We Consume Too Much blog

Volunteer Award: Josephine Keeney, Molly Hollar Wildscape, Native Plant Society of Texas, Arlington Conservation Council