March 1, 2013

Voting has ended for our Environmental Leadership Awards. We want to thank the people who took the time to cast more than 8,000 votes, everyone who made a nomination, and all the nominees for their participation, understanding, and support.  The winning organization will receive $500 and the winning individuals will have $250 donated to the cause of their choice.  Winners will be selected by a panel from the three finalists in each category and announced at a -

Tuesday  -  March 19, 2013
5:00 - 7:00 PM
Sean Fitzgerald Photography
2614 Canton Street   
Dallas Texas 75226

For tickets


Special Awards
Lifetime Achievement - Tom Kemper
Public Service -Trammell S. Crow / Earth Day Dallas

Nonprofit Professional Vote
Debbie Branch: Commercial Recycling and Keep Fort Worth Beautiful Coordinator - City of Fort Worth    505 Finalist
Amanda Vanhoozier: Coppell Community Garden/Coppell Farmers Market Supervisor    470 Finalist
Jim Schermbeck: Director - Downwinders At Risk    350  Finalist
Jonathan Kraatz: Executive Director - US Green Building Council - North Texas    204
Meghna Tare: Director of Sustainability, University of Texas at Arlington    150
Dr. S.H. Sohmer: President and Director - Botanical Research Institute of Texas    72
Dayna Cowley: Sustainability Coordinator City of Dallas, Office of Environmental Quality    60

Entrepreneur Vote
Torey Mitchell: Owner/Operator, Green Dream Recycling    487  Finalist
Eddie Lott and Maria Lott: Owners, Recycle Revolution    421

Megan Topham: Owner, Good Karma Food Truck    276  Finalist
Joan Ulani Meeks: Former Owner, Environmental Waste Disposal, Owner, Commodity Recycling Solutions    198
Tim Whaley: Founder/Artist, Glass Recycled    167

Ashley Paz: Owner, Vera Green Productions, Vivi Gray Design    102

For Profit/Corporate Environmental Professional Vote
Gary Olp: GGO Architects    496  Finalist
Frito Lay Facilities Team: Frito Lay    356  Finalist
Mitch Fine: Earth NT    200 Finalist

Peter Swanson: Daylight Rangers    183

Herve Brechoteau: Greenland Energy Dynamics    129

Grass Roots Nonprofit Group or Organization Vote
Dallas Sierra Club    299 Finalist
Friends of Tandy Hills Natural Area    284 Finalist
REAL School Gardens    277 Finalist

Promise of Peace Community Garden    253
Dallas Historic Tree Coalition    124
Dallas Vegan and Texas State Veggie Fair    117
Texas Campaign for the Environment-Dallas-Fort Worth Office    104

Old Oak Cliff Conservation League    95
Bob Jones Nature Center    52

Volunteer Vote
Molly Rooke: Dallas Sierra Club    392  Finalist
Paula Ramirez: Deep Ellum Community Gardens Finalist    329
Jim Marshall: Project Blue Bird    270  Finalist

Elizabeth Dry: Promise of Peace Community Garden    261

Alton Bowman: Flower Mound Foundation    136
Liz Wheelan: Dallas of Inner City Outings (ICO)    110
Kim Young: Net Impact Dallas/Fort Worth    56
Claudia and Ed Meyer: Dallas Residents at Risk    47

Space for reception is Limited - For tickets

Stay up to date on everything green in North Texas, including the latest news and events! Sign up for the weekly Green Source DFW Newsletter! Follow us on Facebook and Twitter. Also check out our new podcast The Texas Green Report, available on your favorite podcast app.