Winners of the 2015 Green Source DFW Sustainable Leadership Awards: Front row: From left, Memnosyne cofounder Mary Ann Thompson-Frenk, Joan Meeks of Commodity Recycling Solutions (Small Business), Green Source DFW project manager Phillip Shinoda. Middle row: Sharon Wilson of Earthworks (Nonprofit Professional), Karen Sanders and Daniel Cunningham of Texas A&M Agrilife (Large Business or Nonprofit Project), Georgeann Moss of DCCCD (Lifetime Achievement), Cathy McMullen of Denton Drilling Awareness Group (Small Nonprofit). Back row, from left, Great Trinity Forest advocate Ben Sandifer (Volunteer) and Memnosyne cofounder Joshua Frenk. Photo by Libbie Simonton.

March 12, 2015

The North Texas green community gathered Wednesday evening in Dallas to hear the inspiring stories of local environmental and sustainability advocates and applaud their achievements at the fourth annual Green Source DFW Sustainable Leadership awards, held at the Dallas Center for Architecture.

Green Source DFW founder and project manager Phillip Shinoda emceed the event that drew green folks from every spectrum, including environmental activists, renewable energy advocates, recycling professionals and sustainability educators. The presentation began with a video about Green Source DFW, featuring green leaders from the community endorsing the publication.

Above, Green Source DFW volunteer Cynthia Shinoda with Russell Luker and Heather Douglas of Balcones Recycling. Photo by Libbie Simonton.

Phillip Collins, executive director of the Memnosyne Institute, the nonprofit that launched and funds Green Source DFW, gave opening remarks.

“You are Green Source DFW,” he said. “You’re the ones who make it happen.”

Mary Ann Thompson-Frenk, the cofounder of the Memnosyne Institute, thanked the crowd for their contributions and reminded them that they are all connected even if they are working in different niches.

“The work adds up and it permeates throughout the community,” she said. “Every single one of you is a different spoke on a wheel that’s moving the community forward.”

Litter patrol volunteer Ken Winn was one of the finalists. Photo by Libbie Simonton.

Memnosyne cofounder Joshua Frenk added that Green Source DFW could potentially reach many more people in an area as populated as DFW, inviting everyone to share it with their friends and colleagues.

“What Green Source DFW needs is you,” he said. “Y’all are ones who are going to take it to the next level.”

The following people were recognized for their outstanding achievements.

Lifetime Achievement honoree Georgeann Moss and Memnosyne cofounder Mary Ann Thompson-Frenk. Photo by Libbie Simonton.

Georgeann Moss, leader of the Dallas County Community College District’s sustainability team, accepted the Lifetime Achievement award from last year’s winner Margie Haley. READ MORE

Joan Meeks, founder of Commodity Recycling Solutions, received the award for Small Business - Entrepreneur. 

The Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Dallas received the award for Large Business or Nonprofit Project for its Urban Water Team. 

The Denton Drilling Awareness Group, the coalition that led the fight to ban fracking in Denton, won for Small Nonprofit. 

Sharon Wilson, Earthworks organizer and nationally recognized anti-gas drilling blogger, received the award for Nonprofit Professional. 

The Volunteer award went to Ben Sandifer, the watchdog who has brought attention to Great Trinity Forest and Pemberton Hill and the importance of protecting it. 

Look for Green Source DFW profiles of award winners in the coming weeks.

Sign up for the weekly Green Source DFW Newsletter to stay up to date on everything green in North Texas, the latest news and events. Follow us on FacebookTwitter and Pinterest.