North Texas Sustainable Leaders

The annual Green Source DFW Sustainble Leadership Awards, hosted by the Memnosyne Institue, honors outstanding green professionals, nonprofits, businesses and volunteers in North Texas selected by their peers. Below is a list of past winners. The 2017 Green Source DFW Sustainble Leadership Awards will be held Nov. 9, 2017 at the Dallas Arboretum.

See Green Source DFW's Green Ground Breakers for a list of historic figures in the North Texas green movement.


2016 GSDFW Sustainable Leadership Winners

Lifetime Achievement: Howard Garrett, organic gardening advocate, radio host and author

Corporate Trailblazer: Breeze Energy

Founders Award: Mary Ann Thompson-Frenk and Joshua Frenk, Phillip Shinoda

Large Business or Nonprofit: Half Price Books

Nonprofit Professional: Dan Lepinski, North Texas Renewable Energy Group and solar education

Small Nonprofit: Texas Honeybee Guild (Susan & Brandon Pollard)

Small Business: Texas Worm Ranch (Heather Rinaldi)

For Profit Professional: Anna Clark, Earth People and Shark Stewards activist

Volunteer: Chris and Dick Guldi, Dallas Sierra Club activists


2015 GSDFW Sustainable Leadership Winners

Lifetime Achievement: Georgeann Moss, leader of the Dallas County Community College District’s sustainability team

Small Business - Entrepreneur: Joan Meeks, Commodity Recycling Solutions founder

Large Business or Nonprofit Project: The Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Dallas, Urban Water Team (Clint Wolfe) 

Small Nonprofit: Denton Drilling Awareness Group, the coalition that led the fight to ban fracking in Denton

Nonprofit Professional: Sharon Wilson, Earthworks organizer and nationally recognized anti-gas drilling blogger

Volunteer: Ben Sandifer, Great Trinity Forest advocate


2014 GSDFW Sustainable Leadership Winners

Lifetime Achievement Award:  Margie Haley, activist and philanthropist

Sustainable For-Profit Award: Gary Olp, GGO Architects founder

Sustainable Nonprofit Professional Award: Rita Beving, activist Sierra Club, Public Citizen

Sustainable Volunteer Leader Award: Alexandria Beck, Mean Green for Animals at UNT activist

Sustainable Entrepreneur Award: Nanci Taylor, Edible DFW publisher

Grassroots Nonprofit Award: Texas Campaign for the Environment - DFW Office


2013 GSDFW Sustainable Leadership Winners

Public Service: Trammell S. Crow, Earth Day Dallas founder

Lifetime Achievement: Tom Kemper, Dolphin Blue founder

Volunteer: Molly Rooke, Dallas Sierra Club activist

Entrepreneur  Maria Lott & Eddie Lott, Recycle Revolution founders

For Profit/Corporate Environmental Professional: Frito Lay Facilities Team (George A. Guck Director, Facilities & Corporate Services) 

Nonprofit Professional: Debbie Branch, Commercial Recycling and Keep Fort Worth Beautiful Coordinator - City of Fort Worth. 

Grassroots Nonprofit Group or Organization: Friends of Tandy Hills Natural Area (Don and Debora Young)


2012 GSDFW Sustainable Leadership Winners

For-Profit/Business Professional Award: Grier Raggio, We Consume Too Much blog

Volunteer Award: Josephine Keeney, Molly Hollar Wildscape, Native Plant Society of Texas, Arlington Conservation Council

Entrepreneur Award: Bonnie Bradshaw, 911 Wildlife

Grassroots Group or Organization Award: Downwinders at Risk (Jim Schermbeck)